Office of the Provost

The provost is the chief academic officer with the responsibility for all educational programs and offerings in the University, outside of the Seminary. Those duties include oversight of academic policies, faculty affairs and personnel matters. Dr. Michael O. Emerson joined North Park University as provost in July 2015. 

The provost ensures all educational programs and offerings are consistent with the mission, vision and values of North Park University. The Provost supervises ten direct reports that include seven Deans, two Directors and one Associate Dean. These positions are listed on the attached organizational chart. Other areas of responsibility include:

  • Chairperson of faculty
  • Appointment of deans and hiring new faculty
  • Chief Budgetary officer for all academic programs
  • Academic Policy
  • Strategic Planning
  • Faculty Development
  • Multicultural Affairs
  • Urban Engagement
  • Cultural Study Centers, International Program Exchange contracts
  • Library
  • General Education and Educational Objectives
  • Educational Assessment/Accreditations
  • Undergraduate Research
  • Honors Program
  • Tenure and promotion
  • College Calendar
  • Board of Trustee committees on Academic and Multicultural Affairs
  • Fund Development for academic programs.

The university consists of one College and five Schools. The College is the largest body of faculties led by the Dean of the College and two Associate Deans. The five Schools are professionally oriented, generally characterized by accreditation, graduate and non-traditional programs. Despite the similarities in the responsibilities of all deans, there are some distinctions between the Dean of the College and Deans of the Schools.

Dr. Michael O. Emerson