Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees serves as the highest governing body of North Park University. The Board is comprised of 30-35 members. A portion of the membership is elected by the Evangelical Covenant Church with the remaining members appointed by the Board itself. All members serve a five-year term with a mandatory one-year leave between consecutive terms.


The work of the Board is organized according to several committees:

  • Academic Committee
  • University Advancement Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Committee on University Mission
  • Seminary Committee
  • Committee of Student Recruitment and Retention
  • Committee on Trustees

Meeting Schedule

The Board of Trustees traditionally meets three times during the academic year; in late October, February, and mid-May.

Board Meeting Documents (Login Required)

David Helwig
Dave Helwig
Board Chair

Retired President & CEO,
West Region WellPoint, Inc.
Thousand Oaks, CA

Paul Hawkinson
Paul Hawkinson
Board Vice Chair

AHP Capital Management
Green Oaks, IL

Kathryn Edin
Kathryn Edin

Board Secretary
Professor of Public Policy & Management
John F. Kennedy School of Government,
Harvard University
Brookline, MA

Virgil H. Applequist
Virgil H. Applequist

Board Treasurer
Retired Executive Vice President & CEO
American Agricultural Insurance Co.
Palatine, IL

Lars Anderson
Lars Anderson

Senior Vice President - National Sales Manager
U.S. Bank Corp. Trust Services
Farmington, MI

Tom Bagley
Thomas S. Bagley

Founder and Senior Managing Director
Pfingsten Partners
Chicago, IL

Bruce Bickner
Bruce Bickner
Retired Chairman and CEO
DeKalb Genetics Corp.
Sycamore, IL

Renee Borkowski
Renee Borkowski

Regional VP Marketing Strategy
Lake Forest, IL

Jay Carstenbrock
Jay P. Carstenbrock
Retired Vice President & Operations Support
Glen Ellyn, IL

Grant Clay
Grant Clay

Lead Pastor
Evangelical Covenant Church
Clay Center, KS

Gail Dahlstrom
Gail Dahlstrom

Vice President for Facilities Management 
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
Lebanon, NH

Lorrie DuPont
Lorrie DuPont

Managing Director 
Higher Education Finance Group
RBC Capital Markets, LLC
Chicago, IL

Randy Furushima
Randy  Furushima

Dean and Executive Officer
New Hope Christian College
Honolulu, HI

Darrell Griffin
D. Darrell Griffin
Oakdale Covenant Church
Chicago, IL

Donna Harris
Donna Harris

Minnehaha Academy
Minneapolis, MN

Dawn Helwig
Dawn Helwig

Milliman, Inc.
Chicago, IL

Calla Holmgren
Calla Holmgren
Gardner Women & Newborn Center
Salt Lake City, UT

Carole J. Johnson
Carole J. Johnson

Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist
Family Continuity Program
Northbridge, MA

Stephen Johnson

Vice President
Naperville, IL.

Michael Jordan
Michael L. Jordan

La Viña Covenant Church
Kerman, CA

John Martz
John Martz
Arvada Covenant Church
Arvada, CO

Mark Lindberg
Mark Lindberg
Young Corp.
Bellevue, WA

Nancy Nyberg
Nancy Nyberg

Homemaker/Community Volunteer
Naperville, IL

David A. Otfinoski
David A. Otfinoski

Retired CEO
MedKnowledge Group, LLC
Chester, CT

David Parkyn
David Parkyn

North Park University
Chicago, IL

LoAnn Peterson
LoAnn Peterson

Director of Hematopathology
Northwestern Memorial Hospital
Winnetka, IL

Rev. Amy Rohler
Amy Rohler

Director of Ministries
Community Helping Hands
Jamestown, NY

Kristine Strand
Kristine  Strand

Associate Professor
Boston University
Boston, MA

Albert Tizon
F. Albert Tizon

Holistic Ministry
Palmer Theological Seminary
Upper Darby, PA

Gary Walter
Gary Walter

The Evangelical Covenant Church
Palatine, IL

William Werner
William Werner

Advocate IL Masonic Medical Center
Skokie, IL

Greg Wittrock
Gregory D. Wittrock
Vice President, General Counsel & Secretary
Masco Corp.
Plymouth, MI

North Park University Board of Trustees