Students line up on the grass during orientation group activities.

Student Activities

Student Government Association

Students elected by students to represent students.

SGA is truly a student-centered organization.

The whole student body elects a president and vice president, and each class also elects senators and representatives. Together, we serve as the official voice of the student body and provide funding to many other student groups and activities. SGA creates a community at North Park University, by helping students explore and join co-curricular activities and events.

Meet Your SGA Leaders

SGA wants to hear from all students. Whether you have questions, concerns, ideas, or just want to say hi, contact your SGA elected officers, representatives and senators whenever you need.

  • Office: Basement of Burgh Hall
  • Office Hours: Posted during the academic year
  • Email the SGA

 

SGA Instagram

SGA Committees

Committees are created to voice specific needs of the student body across campus and
perform services that immediately benefit the student body. All students, whether in
student government or not, are encouraged to join a committee. For more information
about meeting times and the work that a committee does, reach out to a Committee
chair listed below.

Judicial Committee: Sofia Meyer, slmeyer2@northpark.edu

Finance Committee: Katherine Dahl, kjdahl@northpark.edu

Sustainability Committee:
Marlee McDougall, mbmcdougall@northpark.edu
Sammy Constantine, snconstantine@northpark.edu
Instagram, @npu.sustainability

Advocacy Committee:
Harlem West-Hammond, hmwest-hammond@northpark.edu
Megha Hans, mhans@northpark.edu

Commuter Committee:
Riya Patel, rpatel2@northpark.edu
Thais Martinez, tmartinez2@northpark.edu
Instagram, @npu.commuters

Ad Hoc Committee: Student Government Association, sga@northpark.edu

SGA Meetings and Events

At SGA meetings, elected senators, club representatives, and the SGA Executive Committee discuss student life and issues, and vote on issues ranging from funding requests to establishing new organizations to policies for how SGA operates. Voting powers are designated to elected senators and club representatives, but all students, faculty, and staff are invited to attend and observe SGA meetings.

In addition, other clubs and organizations schedule their own meetings and events.

SGA Calendar