North Park University - Chicago North Park University - Chicago

Presidential Search

Search Committee

The 15-person committee includes 9 members of the Board of Trustees, two of whom serve ex officio, and 6 members of the campus community – two students, three faculty members, and a representative of staff and administrative employees.

Board members include

  • Owen R. Youngman, Deerfield, Illinois; committee chair; professor and chair in digital media strategy, Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University
  • Kristine Strand, Boston, Massachusetts; chair of the North Park Board of Trustees (serving ex officio); associate professor (retired), department of speech, language, and hearing sciences, Boston University; senior speech-language pathologist and literacy specialist, Learning Disabilities Program, Department of Neurology, Boston Children’s Hospital
  • Gary Walter, Palatine, Illinois; president of the Evangelical Covenant Church (serving ex officio)
  • Peggy Bley, San Francisco, California; certified public accountant
  • Rebekah Eklund, Baltimore, Maryland; assistant professor of theology, Loyola University Maryland in Baltimore
  • D. Darrell Griffin, Chicago, Illinois; pastor, Oakdale Covenant Church
  • David Helwig, Plymouth, California; president and West Region CEO (retired), WellPoint, Inc.
  • Karen Meyer, Denver, Colorado; vice president, sales and partnerships, Welltok, Inc.
  • David Otfinoski, Chester, Connecticut; president, Catamount Medical Information, LLC

Members of the campus community include

  • Jonathan Peterson, University faculty; assistant professor of politics and government and chair of the North Park Faculty Senate
  • Alyssa Anderson, University faculty; assistant professor of athletic training
  • Elizabeth Pierre, Seminary faculty; assistant professor in both the Seminary and School of Professional Studies
  • Angela Nevoso, president of the undergraduate Student Government Association
  • Mackenzie Mahon, incoming president of the Seminary Student Association
  • Roby Geevarghese, major gift officer in the Department of Development and Alumni Relations