North Park Honors Faculty at University Convocation featured image background
News, Stories
September 27, 2018

North Park Honors Faculty at University Convocation

Share this page:

North Park honored its faculty at the annual University Convocation September 17, installing new and tenured faculty and administrators, and recognizing those who have published books and articles in the last year.

In her address to the nine professors who attained promotions or tenure at the ceremony in Anderson Chapel, President Mary Surridge commended them on their hard work and devotion to North Park.

Provost Michael O. Emerson recognized the 10 faculty members who have recently published books, which ranged in topic from mathematics to Hip Hop music and its application to theology.

“Words are precious and valued, holy and sacred,” Emerson said. “To write is to contribute to the divine creation, to be a writer is to be called by God’s hand to be co-creator.”

Ingrid Tenglin, assistant vice president of human resources, installed two new administrators: Lisa Ncube, associate provost for enrollment management; and Anthony Scola, vice president for enrollment management and marketing.
“We need the expertise and skills, the passion and commitment you bring to this place,” Tenglin said. “We are thankful you have chosen to serve with us.”
The faculty members were honored at a reception after the service.

Recognized Faculty:

Eric Brown—Tenure
Yoojin Choi—Tenure and full professor
Julia Davids—Full professor
You-Seong Kim—Tenure
John Laukaitis—Tenure and associate professor
Dimitra Loukissa—Tenure and full professor
Sunshine Silver—Associate professor
Kezia Shirkey—Tenure and associate professor
Theodore Zervas—Tenure and full professor

Faculty Authors:

Ilsup Ahn
Rachelle Ankney and Aaron Kaestner
Chad Eric Bergman
Paul H. De Neui
Michael Oluf Emerson
Alice Gorguis
Daniel White Hodge
Hauna Ondrey
Gregor Thuswaldner
Theodore G. Zervas

Back to Stories