North Park University - Chicago North Park University - Chicago

University Ministries

Urban Outreach

The purpose of Urban Outreach is to pursue the flourishing of our city by engaging in service and pursuing justice. There are three primary ways our students can get involved:

Presence

Service initiatives place an emphasis on a ministry of presence by building relationships across various contexts. We believe these relationships can influence both our personal sense of vocation and transform our worldviews.

Programming

The Programming team plans events that promote an ethos of civic engagement across the campus and connect us with our community. We believe events like Service Day can help galvanize our student body to be active participants in the dynamic work that is already taking place in our city.

Policy

North Park Faith and Justice is a grassroots student-driven organization that partners with local community-based organizations to address public policy issues in our city. We believe democratic engagement is an important moral obligation and intrinsic to what it means to be a citizen.

Urban Outreach Opportunities

Commuters gather to serve our community through various opportunities.

Day: Various
Time: Various
Contact: Rosanna Petrucci (repetrucci@northpark.edu)

An after school program in Humboldt Park that provides tutoring and mentoring of students.

Day: Various
Time: 3:00–6:00 pm
Contact: Rachel Leslie rjleslie@northpark.edu

An after school program in the Austin and Cabrini neighborhoods that provides tutoring and mentoring.

Day: Wednesdays or Thursdays
Time: 3:00–7:00 pm
Contact: Raven Simpson (rssimpson@northpark.edu)

A youth ministry that serves Evangelical Covenant Churches in the Chicagoland area.

Day: Wednesdays or Thursdays
Time: 3:00–7:00 pm
Contact:

Volunteers share a meal with those experiencing homelessness under Lower Wacker Drive.

Day: Fridays
Time: 7:00–10:15 pm
Contact: Rachel Johnson (rmjohnson1@northpark.edu)

 

A student group that promotes awareness and action with regard to environmental issues on campus and beyond.

Day: Various
Time: Various
Contact: Renee Baker (rabaker@northpark.edu)

A grassroots social justice organization that addresses the issue of trafficking.

Day: Various
Time: Various
Contact: Rachael Greco (regreco@northpark.edu)

An after school based program that works with elementary students from Peterson Elementary School.

Day: Mondays
Time: 3:45–5:15 pm or 6:30–8:00 pm
Contact:
Kajsa Long (kglong@northpark.edu)

Volunteers help with an after school program that supports the families of refugees.

Day: Various
Time: Various
Contact: Caleb Frank (cmfrank@northpark.edu)

A high school program at Lane Tech High School that helps teens grow in their faith.

Day: Mondays
Time: 3:00 pm
Contact: Emma Mueller (emueller@northpark.edu)