Office of the President

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees serves as the highest governing body of North Park University. A portion of the membership is elected by the Evangelical Covenant Church with the remaining members appointed by the Board itself. All members serve a five-year term with a mandatory one-year leave between consecutive terms.


The work of the Board is organized according to several committees:

  • Academic Committee
  • University Advancement Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Seminary Committee
  • Committee of Student Recruitment and Retention
  • Committee on Trustees

Meeting Schedule

The Board of Trustees traditionally meets three times during the academic year; in late October, February, and mid-May.

Board Meeting Documents

Current Members of the Board of Trustees

David Otfinoski

David Otfinoski

Board Chair
Catamount Medical Education
Chester, CT

Jay Carstenbrock

Board Vice Chair
VP of Operations Support
Wheaton, IL

Mary Miller

Board Secretary
Covenant Village of Cromwell
Middleton, CT

David Youngberg

Board Treasurer
Stamford, CT

Mary Surridge

President, North Park University
Chicago, IL

Virgil Applequist

Retired Executive Vice President and CEO
American Agricultural Ins. Co.,
Palatine, IL

Peggy Bley

Peggy Bley

Peggy Ann Bley, CPA
San Francisco, CA

Jon Bonkoski

Senior Advisor
Cresa Minneapolis, Arden Hills, MN

Howard Burgoyne

Superintendent – East Coast Conference
Cromwell, CT

Greg Crawford

Gregory Crawford

Vice President
Human Capital Management Assured Partners
Lisle, IL

Marvin Curtis

Raclin School of the Arts
Indiana University – South Bend
South Bend, IN

Andrea Dennis

Physical Therapist
Mary Free Bed, Rehabilitation Hospital
Grand Rapids, MI

Greg Dolezal

Gregory Dolezal

Renewed Vision
Alpharetta, GA

David Dwight

David Dwight

Retired President
Covenant Ministries of Benevolence
Chicago, IL

Kathryn Edin

Professor of Sociology and Public Affairs
Princeton University
Baltimore, MD

Rebekah Eklund

Rebekah Eklund

Assistant Professor of Theology
Loyola University Maryland in Baltimore
Baltimore, MD

Arriel Gray Jr.

Arriel Gray Jr.

Deputy Fire Commissioner, Fire Prevention Bureau
Chicago Fire Department
Chicago, IL

Keith Hamilton

Keith Hamilton

Alaska Christian College
Soldotna, AK

David Helwig

Proprietor, Helwig Winery
Retired President & CEO
West Region WellPoint, Inc.
Plymouth, CA

Dawn Helwig

Dawn Helwig

Consulting Actuary
Milliman USA
Chicago, IL

Marcia Jimenez

Marcia Jimenez

Director of Intergovernmental Affairs
Swedish Covenant Hospital
Chicago, IL

Jodi DeYoung Moore

Jodi DeYoung Moore

First Covenant Church
Lincoln, NE

Peter Nelson

Peter C. Nelson

Dean – College of Engineering
Wilmette, IL

Erin Oleniczak

Occupational Therapist
Shirley Ryan Ability Lab
Lincolnwood, IL

Aaron Olson

Global Head of Human Resources
Aon Corporation
Chicago, IL

Thomas Trautman

Fellow, Toxicology and Regulatory Affairs
General Mills
Plymouth, MN

John Wenrich

Evangelical Covenant Church
Hoffman Estates, IL

Krist Werling

Krist Werling

McDermott, Will and Emery
Chicago, IL

Greg Wittrock

Gregory Wittrock

Retired VP, General Counsel, and Secretary
Masco Corporation
Taylor, MI

Dennis Wolff

Dennis Wolff

Pricewaterhouse Coopers LLP
Bellevue, WA